Barangay Dalawinon is called Dalawingin in the year 1916, which was taken after the name of a Bilaan Datu, who was the first settler of the area. He had with him 15 followers or families. After his death in 1919, he was replaced by Datu Lauda but the place’s name was not changed in honor of the dead leader.

In 1920, there were some Christians who arrived in the place and they were, Francisco Gatlabayan, Mardonio Bangoy Sr. Vicente Bangoy Sr. and juan Pulido. They were composed of seven families. The natives were so afraid so they left their farms except for those few who were left behind and went far from their places.

In 1930, there were 25 Christian families who arrived and they were Antonio Diagbel, Marcial Calabucal, Eusebio Calabucal, Rosendo Calabucal, Salustiano Claro, Miguel Alizo, Emiliano Englis, Juan Orimo, Pedro Anas, Guillermo Pulido, Jose Borja, Santiago Malayao, Avelino De Guzman, Anastacio Borillo, Potenciano Piretong, Cipriano Bajenting, Francisco Jose Sr. Olimpio Alquizar Guillermo Brunidor, Temoteo Nasol, Bonifacio Ubalde, Jose Guerero, Jaime Nataste, majority of them were Cebuano, Ilocano, Boholano and only few were Ilongo, Leyteño and natives. But the common dialect is Cebuano.

It was also in 1930’s that the Bureau of Lands conducted a land survey of all occupied area that constitutes Barangay Dalawinon. It was, according to the pioneers that the Bureau of Lands who changed the name of the Barangay from Dalawingin to Dalawinon. During this time, the plase has plenty of big trees until 1938-1939. Almost all the trail is the pathways of the wild animals. The residents got their water in the river and the distance from one neighbor to another is almost one (1) kilometer. The pioneers cultivated less than a hectare to Cassava, sweet potatoes, Ube, Bananas, Gabi, and many others. They planted varieties of rice like Tadukan, Inumay, and Manumbalay. They also changed leaders and call him Teniente del Baryo, from Francisco Gatibayan, followed by Ricardo Alagao, Cipriano Bajenting, Simeon Cabonia and Marcial Flores.

In 1953, Dalawinon was still part at the municipality of Bansalan, Davao del Sur because “Kialeg” was not a municipality yet. In 1959, Kialeg was changed into Magsaysay and in Sept. 28, 1964, Diosdado Macapagal passed a bill and executive order no. 103 creating Barangay Magsaysay into a municipality. December 24, 1965, Maning Pelaez, Auditor General that the Municipality of Magsaysay be separated from the Municipality of Bansalan, declared it. It was on June 17, 1967 through the Republic Act No. 4976 that congress approved the bill.

The Municipality of Magsaysay has a total land area of 16,738.1 hectares. Seventy five (75%) of these were agricultural and 25% were forestall. As a municipality, it has a total of 22 barrios, which includes Barangay Dalawinon. It was in January 21, 1964, that the election of a Barangay leader is already called Barangay Captain. The one voted in office was Teofilo Rabe and the barangay councils were, Guillermo Pulido, Delfina Gimuta, Iterminio Mangulabnan, Filex Calabucal, Serapion Ternio and Francisco Malayao Sr.

The first celebration of the “Araw ng Dalawinon” was held on March 22, 1991. This was celebrated during the birthday of Pablito Diagbel in honor of his 24th year in the service of the Barangay. This was suggested by Teopisto Gaga-a which was appoved unanimously by all the Barangay officials.

Due to the development and progress of Barangay Dalawinon, each of the settlers were able to have a source of livelihood and acquire properties. There were who bought a public utility jeep which ferry passengers from Bansalan to Davao City, another bought threshers and tractors while the others bought motorcycles which is used as a means of transportation within the Barangay.


Land Area625,279
Income Class3rd Class
CY 2001 IncomeP583,352.00
No. of Sitios6
Registered Voters1,106
Enabling LawRA 4976
Date of CreationJune 17,1967


Punong Barangay:
Cornelio R. Bajenting

Contact Number:
0909 880 4009


  1. Manuel L. Rabe Jr.
  2. Cesar G. Ternio
  3. Darius D. Andrada
  4. Marcela D. Quimod
  5. Zaldy B. Bueno
  6. Lydia E. Moalong
  7. Pablo G. Remonde

SK President: Juncris D. Rabe
Secretary: Lorraine P. Ganal
Treasurer: Rechel A. Sosas